Many people believe that a large proportion of a country’s health budget should be diverted from treatment to spending on health education and preventative measures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is important to consider how the major portion of the budget assigned by the government for health services should be utilized. According to many, it should be used for educating people about health and introducing measures for prevention from diseases, instead of using it for treatments. I strongly support this notion as this will not only generate awareness among people about health issues but will also prove economical for most of the nations.

To begin with, the most crucial factor that supports my viewpoint is the generation of awareness among the people about the health-related issues and its possible solutions. This is because, with the help of health education people can learn about the symptoms of varied disease, the importance of the consumption of nutritive diet and maintenance of a clean environment, as a result, the proportion of people affecting from fatal diseases will significantly decrease. For instance, in America after providing the education about AIDS to the citizens, there is a 60% reduction in the cases of this disease. In contrast, if people are not inculcated with health knowledge, then they will easily get prone to diseases and will possibly spend a hefty sum of money on its cure.

Additionally, my opinion is further bolstered by the reason that the provision of health education and preventive measures is extremely economical as compared to the expenditure in treatments. The reason for this is education can be provided through various means such as newspaper articles, TV programmes, magazines, free sessions in schools and colleges and seminars in remote areas which involves fewer finances in comparison to the investment on medicines and other machinery. For example, complete cancer treatment can cost approximately 50 lacs, which can be easily cut short by providing education about its cause and prevention.

In conclusion, although it is necessary to spend some money towards medicine and treatment, in my perspective, investment in health education and learning of preventive measures is quintessential as it is a more economical way of utilizing government funds and making people aware of detrimental diseases.