SOME PEOPLE SAY THAT THE BEST WAY TO IMPROVE PUBLIC HEALTH IS BY INCREASING THE NUMBER OF SPORTS FACILITIES. OTHERS, HOWEVER, SAY THAT THIS WOULD HAVE LITTLE EFFECT ON PUBLIC HEALTH AND THAT OTHER MEASURES ARE REQUIRED.

DISCUSS BOTH VIEWS AND GIVE YOUR OWN OPINION.

There is an ongoing debate over the methods for improving public health and lifestyle. While some believe that an increase in the sports facilities is the most effective approach, in my perspective, a nutritive diet is more essential for improving the health of people.

To begin with, those who favour increasing sports facilities assert that a workout through sports improves physical and psychological health. The reason for this is while performing these activities, calories from the body get burnt which leads to excessive weight loss. Also, sports regulate the blood circulation which energies the brain and improves its functionality. For instance, according to a survey done by the 'Medical Institute of Science' on corporate employees, people who are engaged in regular sports are more productive in comparison to others. However, owing to a sedentary lifestyle, people hardly get time to avail of sports facilities, thus this approach can not be considered as the best one.

On the other hand, many people hold a view that sports facilities alone can not ensure the good health of the people, there are many other approaches that should be considered. Of all the ways, the most crucial is the availability of healthy and nutritive diet to the people. The reason for this is the functionalities of the human mind and body are monitored by the quality of food intake and physical workout is not effective unless coupled with a nutritive diet. Therefore, the availability of green vegetables, fruits and food rich in minerals and vitamins is quintessential for the public's health. A mid-day meal in which a free nutritive meal is provided by the government of India to the school students in order to improve their nutritious status serves the best example.

In conclusion, although sports facilities enhance public health to some extent, in my opinion, other measures such as the availability of healthy food are much more effective.