Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve the growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

It is important to consider how the serious issues of environmental pollution and traffic congestion should be handled. While some believe the hike in fuel rate is the most effective way to mitigate these problems, in my opinion, it is not the best approach as it is a short-term measure. However, there are other more useful ways present such as usage of public transport.

To begin with, increasing the price of petrol is certainly not an efficient approach as it's effectiveness lasts for a smaller period of time. Though it might cut the number of vehicles on the road, its impact on the other daily-use commodities can be adverse, as the price of food and other goods also gets increased with the rise in fuel rate. For instance, according to the survey by 'The Times' in Gurugram in 2019, with the 2% surge in petrol prices, there is always a 10% increase in the rate of vegetables. Therefore, considering the adversity of this approach, it is usually carried out for a limited duration and not a long-term solution.

Nevertheless, there are a plethora of other effective ways to mitigate the menace of traffic and pollution. Of all the approaches the most crucial is the usage of public transportation. With this, people should be motivated to use public buses, metros, and shared-cabs instead of using a personal individual vehicle for commuting. Consequently, this will not only reduce the number of vehicles on roads but also limit the emissions of harmful pollutants. To exemplify, the Alibaba company in Japan provides free commuting service to its employees in a motive to protect the environment from the pollution caused by vehicles.

In conclusion, although some people perceive increasing petrol prices is the best way to curb traffic and pollution, in my perspective, it is an approach with limited effectiveness and according to me using public transport for commutation is one of the other best ways to remedy these problems.