In many countries, it is now illegal to smoke in public places. It is only fair that people who wish to smoke should have to leave the building. Do you agree or disagree?

It is important to consider how public smoking is affecting the lives of the general public. Owing to this, most of the countries have already banned this practice and, allows smokers to smoke outside the workplace and in defined smoking zones. I completely agree with this notion as public smoking not only affects the health of people but also leaves an adverse impact on children.

The first and foremost reason to support my view is that the smoke in the air can have an egregious impact on the health of people. This is because the fumes produced from the cigarettes contain harmful gases which can cause various fatal diseases such as lung infection, breathing disorder, and cancer. For instance, according to a medical report by the Indian Institute of Medical Science, the death rate of the people affected from the lung cancer which is caused by the inhaling of smoking gas has steeped to 40% in the last five years. Therefore, if smokers will be allowed to smoke only in the confined areas, then there will be fewer chances of direct consumption of infected air by the people.

Secondly, my opinion is further bolstered by the factor that public smoking can also indulge the children in this bad habit. The reason for this is children are quite vulnerable and impressionable, they are usually not aware of the unethical means, as a consequence, they follow the actions of adults. For example, a psychological study states that 80% of the children are likely to perform the activities of elders whom they see in their day to day life. Henceforth, if public smoking will be prohibited, then juveniles will definitely be prevented from its harmful impact.

In conclusion, although many nations have declared public smoking as illegal and defined rules for smokers, in my opinion, this practice should be followed by all the countries considering its adversity on public health and wrong impression on the young ones.