It is generally believed that education is of vital importance to the development of individuals and the well being of societies.

What should education consist of to fulfill both these functions?

Discuss and give your opinion.

It is important to consider how education plays a quintessential role in the betterment of society and individuals. Although the areas of education are broad enough, in my perspective, focus on interpersonal skills while studying can lead to personal development and the introduction of ethical and environment-related subjects can cause social welfare.

To begin with, education is the most crucial factor responsible for the development of an individual's personality. While educating, a person learns various subjects related to science, history, language, and fiction, which inculcates a plethora of knowledgeable values into them. However, this process of acquiring knowledge can be elevated by introducing interpersonal skills as part of the curriculum such as communication, management, and business skills. This is because every sector requires proficient and skilled employees with excellent presentation abilities, managerial attributes and stupendous knowledge of business values, and this can only be achieved if these attributes are learnt during the education process. For instance, during recruitment, India's leading multinational company the Tata Consultancy Services assess the applicants through a personal-skill set round with which they choose them not only on the basis of degree but also on the skills they hold.

Moreover, it is an undeniable fact that educated citizens build a healthy society. Therefore, in order to bring social prosperity, it is vital to include applied ethics and environmental science as part of the syllabus, which can further lead to harmony, less crime, and clean surroundings. Additionally, these learnings foster the ethical values in students that make them broad-minded and tolerant towards other cultures and traditions; as a result, they become responsible citizens of society. To illustrate, the government of China has made the environment subjects compulsory for secondary and tertiary education to generate awareness among students for the protection of the ecosystem. Thus, for the welfare of society, it is necessary to make these lessons mandatory to make the individuals socially cultured and ethical.

In conclusion, considering the importance of education, in my opinion, academics must constitute interpersonal skills and subjects of moral conduct to provide better development to an individual and for social well being.