Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

some people argue that adding extra charge on petrol will be a great solution to overcome challenges related to traffic and pollution. I completely agree with this notion due to the possibility of lessening the number of private vehicle running on the road. some other initiatives from the government can be to make the parking charge higher and adding additional tax on the purchase of vehicle. In this essay, I will discuss these concepts with relevant examples.

To begin with, if the price of petrol rise higher, then people will be less dependent on using private vehicle. They will not only avoid taking car for short distance, but will also increase their practice of using public transportation for longer distance. As a result, less car will be in the street to cause carbon emission and disruption on travel. Singapore has introduced extra tax on petrol since 2006 and a number research has identified it as the key reason behind government's success on controlling environmental problem and traffic.

On the other hand, number of car moving in the city can be minimized by adding extravagant charge on parking. For instance, hardly any Londoners would drive their car in the city center due to the limitation related to parking spot. Another measure like adding tax on any purchase of car can drastically reduce the number of new car entering in the road every year. this way number of transportation will not increase and people will not have to worry about the disruption causing by too many vehicles on the road. also, it is needless to say that the environment will be benefitted through this too.

To conclude, an increase in the price of petrol will certainly play the most significant role in limiting the disturbance causing by rise of private transportation. Similarly, high taxation on the purchase of car and extra charge on parking would make the process even faster.