The cultures of many countries around the world becomes more similar than they used to be.

What are the reasons for this trend?

Is it positive or negative?

In this age of globalization, counties are building similar attributes than ever before. westernization and usage of technology are the primary influences to guide countries of different geographical setup to one direction in terms of lifestyle, like food habit, costume, entertainment medium ets. this essay will analyze how westernization and digital technologies are molding the modern culture of many countries and why I see it as a threat.

Firstly, most of the continents are following North American and European culture in their regular activities as they are getting extremely exposed to the western societies due to the high volume of the western media coverage, pop culture, and industrialized campaigns. In other words, citizens are growing interest towards western trend despite of cultural differences they might have. Even many local shops, cultural centers and commericial entities are considering western theme and characters to sell their products. As a result, all the countries' contemporary culture has become westenized to some extent, and it looks alike. For example, a study conducted by German Embassy in India has reported that the academics of South and Central Asia have marked westernizaion as the key driving force behind the abrupt similarities developed among Asian countries in last 10 years.

Secoundly, many scholars suggest that access to online platforms and devices are diverting the young generation towards a digital culture. this is ultimately separating the youth from their traditional practice. To elaborate the dependency on streaming culture, video games and using hashtag are the new way of living which invite people of all background to share a global lifestyle. For instance, a survey by University of British Columbia has found that selfie has become the biggest trend due to social media and it is acting as one of the most popular digital trend that is following by students of many cultural background. Undoubtedly, this digital technolgies are bringing more similarities and unities between different countries than anybody could ever imagined in the past.

I would advocate the similarities between cultures in this twenty first century is mostly negative due to the possiblity of die out of cultural diversity. To be precise, the more coutries social and cultural presence will become similar, the less traditional and historical values will be able to sustain on those countries' day to day practice. it will ruin the beautiful cultural history of many countries and the nations who are encountering this will soon face identity crisis. For this reason, socialogists have always pointed out deminishing of cultural values as the most risky threat any country can have.

To conclude, the similarities between different culture can be utilized for the betterment only when all the country acknowledge the fact and take necessary actions to protect own culture while going forward by celebrating the dominance of modern culture.