The cultures of many countries around the world becomes more similar than they used to be.

What are the reasons for this trend?

Is it positive or negative?

The expansion in business and tourism industry at global scale has made the world a global village where many nations are more identical in cultures compared to the past. In my opinion, I believe it is certainly a very positive shift but only to a certain extent as it has detrimental impact on cultural values and particularity which have made them unique in the first place.

The trend of cultural transfer becomes more aggressive after the industrialization when people started to migrate to different places all over the world. The rise of globalization, which has enabled people to interact with people from different cultural background for business purposes, acted as a prime catalyst to fuel the inter-culture interaction. Consequently, people started to explore various community all over the world, which has encouraged to adopt different traditions from these societies. Thus, without any realization, various nations became similar in cultures.

The cultural migration has not only strengthened the unity throughout the globe but also uplifted the ease of business. When people have same mentality, the chances of discrimination, which is major issue in many countries, reduce to a great extent. At the same time, multinational companies, which has business spread all over the globe, will be benefitted because of similar culture throughout the world. Thus, similarity in culture is beneficial well-being of society as well as economy.

However, it is a direct threat to individuality and originality of any community when resemblance is encouraged more over uniqueness. It also has detrimental impact on tourism industry, which is only source of income for many nations, such as Nepal, because cultural diversity is a major attraction for many people. Thus, identical culture is nothing but a double-edged sword.

In conclusion, although cultural similarity motivates the world-wide unity, it is dangerous for individuality. Thus, people should be encouraged for multi-culture co-existence to make the world better place.