In many countries, new houses are needed but the only space available for building them is in the countryside.

Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new homes there.

What is your opinion about them?

The massive increase in the population has created the shortage of dwelling places in urban areas and the vacant spaces for the construction of homes are only available in the rural parts. Some people assert that the protection of the countryside from urban utilization is quite essential. I strongly support the view and in my opinion, the countryside is the most important place for any civilization because it is where the majority of food grow to feed people in the cities and through which environmental pollution is balanced.

Primarily, developing suburbs in agricultural areas might have egregious consequences for the cities. In other words, the construction of new buildings or industries obligates the farmers to move to other places or to leave agricultural practices. Consequently, this can affect the export of wheat and rice to cities, as a result, the price of these products become extremely high. For example, the agricultural association of Punjab stated that due to urbanization, 40% downfall in agriculture export has been observed in the last ten years which has increased the prices of paddy to 10%.

Secondly, areas in the countryside are the sources of a clean and healthy environment as these areas are mostly covered with trees and plants. Furthermore, deforestation done to build new places can further exaggerate environmental pollution. To exemplify, the construction of Vatika apartments in the outskirts of Haryana has caused the destruction of 30% of the entire vegetation of the area.

In conclusion, it can be stated that the preservation of the countryside is vital in order to have a healthy environment and adequate food production. Therefore, using this space for building new living spaces might create consequences for nature and to individual. In the near future, to alleviate the problem of space for building homes, some scientific schemes need to be followed, instead of consuming the productive countryside lands.