In many places, new homes are needed, but the only space available for building them is in the countryside. Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new homes there.

What is your opinion about them?

In many parts of the world, there is a stimulating discussion about whether or not to build new homes in the countryside. Some people assert that the protection of the countryside from urban utilization is quintessential while others oppose this idea. In my opinion, the countryside is the most important place for any civilization because it is where the majority of food grows and animals feed in order to supply food to the cities.

To embark on, developing suburbs in the agricultural areas might have egregious consequences. Firstly, the construction of new homes in these areas can obligate the farmers to relocate to an unknown zone. Owing to this, they will have to learn weather, soil and pests conditions, which can further reduce the production of crops, consequently, leading to an increase in the market price of that crop. To illustrate, in 2014 it was reported by 'The Daily Mail' in Geelong, Australia, that the ceasing of farmland for building purposes leads to a high surge in rice prices because the production was reduced by more than fifty percent. This forced the Australian government to buy rice from overseas at higher prices, which caused a huge decline in its economy.

Secondly, farm animals also suffer the relocation to new lands if their native space is assigned to new developments. Additionally, animals living in the countryside require a certain type of grass or food in their diet, and these nutrients might not be available in the new location. Thus, this could lead to several diseases and to an increase in veterinarian expenses to look after the health of the farm animals. For example, a study by The University of California showed that in San Diego the relocation of a cattle develops a bacteria in the milk production due to a new type of grass, which caused the waste of more than one million liters of milk and the hospitalization of several people.

To conclude, in my point of view, the countryside is vital for human beings and using this space with the purpose of new dwelling places can create serious repercussions such as less per capita production and sickness of animals.