In many places, new homes are needed, but the only space available for building them is in the countryside. Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new homes there. What is your opinion about this?

The effectiveness of constructing new homes in the countryside is datable. It is often argued that it is compulsory to protect the land of the rural area rather than building news homes out there. I completely agree with the statement above and provide evidence as to why we should protect the landscape of the country, and its alternate solution caters to the need for homes in the city.

To begin with, there are various reasons why we should protect the countryside. The prime reason is that the beautiful landscape of the country would attract people from across the globe to visit because these days people would like to visit places where they could rewind the stress from daily routine while looking at the natural beauty. The influx of tourists would allow earning handsome revenue, and this will generate employment in different fields such as the hotel and transportation industry. A recent article suggests that the tourist industry in Switzerland is contributing 20% revenue in GDP, and the credit goes to their countryside as they didn’t destroy landscape; therefore, people love to visit the country every year. A final reason is to protect natural habitats. This could be achieved by preserving the environment where they would like to live. Therefore, building new homes in the countryside would lead to disaster for them which needs to be avoided.

However, there is an alternate option available to meet the high demand for houses. It is often claimed, for example, that the vertical expansion in the city is the prime solution to meet the demand. Besides, it will require less time and cost to construct a skyscraper in the city as it requires less land to pay for and the workforce would be readily available in the town rather than hiring manpower for the countryside. That’s why vertical expansion to solve the above-mentioned problem should not be neglected.

In conclusion, I am of the view that the countryside construction should be avoided as it increases tourism in the country and protects natural habitat, I presume highrise towers could be possible option to meet the housing demand in the country.