Some employers offer their employees subsidized membership of gyms and sports clubs, believing that this will make their staff healthier and thus more effective at work. Other employers see no benefit in doing so.

Consider the arguments from both aspects of this possible debate, and reach a conclusion.

Various initiatives are being taken by the employers in order to keep their employees healthy and productive. Whereas some employees think that, such programs are not effective. We will discuss both sides in depth.

With increasing work pressure, employees have started feeling demotivated and are not able to use their potential to maximum. Companies are providing various recreational activities to their employees such as movie vouchers, gym and sports club membership, free holidays etc to make sure that employees heath don't suffer due to work. Such subsidies helps employees to cope with stress and produce maximum output. It is also important to maintain balance between work and life. Various perks like free family heath check up and shopping vouchers are also provided as a gesture to take care of employees family members.

To measure the effectiveness of an initiative company needs proper data. Problem with these leisure subsidies is that it can't be measured in quantitative parameters like target based work. On the other hands, not all the employees are motivated by these subsidies as all the employees have different expectations. Companies offer various on the job training's, rewards, pay increments, financial rewards to keep their employees productive. Some employers have also started day release programs so their can be change in surrounding and at the same time, learning can also be done.

As per my opinion, these health related subsidies are superficial and are not practically viable at large scale. Rather, companies should spend on training so learning can be an ongoing process. Family floater heath insurance cover can be provided to employees to ensure that they have proper medical provision in case of contingency.