Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Foreign language is an essential element of education curriculum. Some people emphasize that foreign language should be part of primary education, whereas some people think that it should be taught after completion of primary school. I believe, although there are disadvantages but learning foreign language in primary school can ameliorate one's learning ability.

Admittedly, there are various advantages of adding foreign language as part of primary education. There is only one responsibility which primary school students have and that is to study. After completing primary school they engage in various internships due to which their attention is diverted to the core subject, focusing their career. While, growing up one has sharp learning ability and foreign language can be given equal importance as Math and Science. By opting foreign language as part of initial schooling, their basics are much clear to them and it also revolutionizes their thought process. It has become very important to be familiar with a second language nowadays, in order to get a decent job in developed nations.

Apart from advantages, there are few disadvantages as well. It is said that focus should be given on fundamental subjects in initial schooling as these subjects help an individual in overall development. A foreign language is not essential as compared to primary language as it is only an add-on subject. For instance, in India French is a mandatory language in various master courses of business schools,whereas there is no provision to teach french in primary schools. After completing primary school students are mature enough to decide their major subject keeping in mind their ambition. As a result, foreign language can be opted in secondary education as per the requirement of the course.

In conclusion, advantages greatly outweigh the disadvantages as foreign language helps in nurturing the mind of budding students and it also helps to stand them in a good stead.