Pollution of rivers, lakes and seas is a major concern for people who seek to protect the environment. What are the possible causes of water pollution, and what effects does this have on animal life and human society?

Water contamination is a critical problem which is a threat to the environment. There seem to be two main causes of it and it has a huge impact on human life as well as animal life.

One of the major causes of water pollution is dumping of industrial waste in the rivers and lakes. Majority of Industries are located on the outskirts of the cities and its proximity is close to water bodies due to which factories easily discharge polluted material. In every state, landfills are located and waste from industries should be dropped there. Another major cause is accidental and deliberate throwing of waste into water bodies. In India, for instance, many people can be seen washing clothes off shore which makes water dirty. Micro pollutants enter the water which cannot be purified with filtration process.

This has very serious effect on animals and humans. Animals are dependent on natural water sources to satisfy their thirst. Due to the consumption of polluted water our count of endangered species is increasing rapidly which is disturbing the animal life cycle eventually. Humans are getting prone to various respiratory diseases such as Asthma, Lung Cancer and Skin diseases. Furthermore, Average human life cycle has also decreased due to more humans being prone to diseases. Such effects tend to have grave impact on the poor sections of the society, with the least resources to counter the environmental effects.

Overall, dumping of waste is the major reason of water contamination. Water pollution is impacting animals and humans all around the globe. Various measures should be taken in order to minimize this in order to prevent the environment.