Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times, even on holidays.Does this development have more disadvantages than advantages?

The advancement in the field of science and technology has enabled most employers to remain in touch with their employees beyond official working hours. While it may have a few advantages, I believe that the disadvantages of this extended contact after office hours and even on holidays outweigh any possible benefit.

There are only a few positive aspects to being able to contact employees at at all times. It allows smooth flow of information between colleagues and enhances their coordination. It may be necessary in the case of people working in fields such as police department or emergency health care. In these occupations it may be pertinent to obtain certain pieces of information from employees immediately, and one cannot wait for their vacations to get over. However, only a handful of jobs would necessitate such a situation.

Conversely, there are numerous drawbacks to being in constant touch with one’s official colleagues. Invariably, such flexibility results in employers repeatedly contacting their workers beyond their stipulated official hours for trivial things. The result in that some employees are never able to take work off their minds even during holidays. Their mind is constantly thinking of some official work or the other. This leads to unnecessary stress among employees. And their work efficiency reduces drastically.

Furthermore, being in constant touch with colleagues through phone or emails hampers the family relationships and the social life of most people. This adds to their stress levels leading to further decline in their work output. Hence, such frequent contacts are not beneficial for either employees or employers.

To conclude, in my perspective, barring a few professions, employers should not be encouraged to contact their workers after office hours. This is because the negative impacts of doing this are far greater than the positives.