Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Learning another language at early ages is a topic that has been discussed these days. Being bilingual or multilingual in childhood had some pros and cons but in my point of view, the benefits far outweigh the drawbacks.

There are several advantages of learning the second language in childhood. First of all, children have much more free time and they are not busy with heavy educational courses or their careers, so they can concentrate better on learning and clearly learn the language more efficiently. For example, an employee has a time limit for learning English because he has to work full-time and fulfill his duties first then focus on learning English. Second of all, young children are not afraid of making mistake and they do not have high expectation about learning a language perfectly and fast. They even could have games and fun during learning the language. Third of all, being bilingual in early ages provide fluency similar to native speakers and lead to better job opportunities or educational qualification in the future. In my perspective, the pros of acquiring a language in primary school are highly beneficial and worth it.

On the other hand, second language acquisition has some disadvantages for children. In fact, it may lead the child to have confusion and it makes him trouble to have effective communication or emotional expression. Moreover, becoming bilingual in childhood provide cultural discrepancies. For example, in some countries, the weekend is on Thursday and Friday but in some foreign cartoons, it demonstrates the weekend on Saturday and Sunday. Thus the child cannot distinguish exactly when the weekend is and what is the reason for such differences.

To conclude, while there are several compelling arguments about the advantages and disadvantages of acquiring a foreign in early ages, I profoundly believe that its pros outweigh the cons because it is much easier to be bilingual in childhood.