Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Children are fruit of any society, without whom it will be perished. Learning a second language is of great importance, which should be taken seriously not only by parents but also by educational apparatus; nevertheless, starting time for learning this vital matter is of cosmetic importance. Starting to learn a foreign language earlier than what is conventional in our education system, would be very beneficial as well as harmful. So, I intend to put this controversial issue into comparative perspective in the following essay.

Firstly, children can learn much easier and faster in their younger age, and it is related to infinite mind capacity in little children in comparison to the older ones. As majority of scientists are unanimous, the younger a person is, the better he can grasp new materials. I have recently read an article about this issue which was investigating about the correlation coefficient between brains associated learning skills and the age. The article clearly concluded that there is an undeniable connection within these two indicators. This article gave me the conviction that the fastest way to acquisition a new skill would be the most young age as feasible, which obtaining a language other than your mother tongue is no exception. Although some people believe it could have negative effects as well, because due to their thought, learning two languages at the same time will result in child’s confusion and from there to his language learning process malfunctioning, however, scientists’ researches prove otherwise.

Second benefit is rise from social adoption, that is to say, human beings one of the best, if not the best, periods of cultural acceptance is their earlier part of life, therefore, teaching a new language to a junior student beside his original language, needs an acceptable level of compatibility to have a cultural comprehension of both native and alien languages social features, which a small kid could better manage it rather than older teenage. My own experience is a good case in point. I am a bilingual person accounting for my mother send me to English classes when I was only a toddler. Now, after many years I can realize what a great favor my mother did to me. I would never soak up the English culture, unless I went to English courses in my younger age. Even though a group of people may take issue with is and encounter the notion by saying that this may cause cultural misunderstanding, invading, and worst of all confronting rather than cultural adaptation, but my own experience reveals just the opposite.

On balance, having compared both merits and demerits of this controversial subject; it is clearly depicted that the advantage of instructing second language in primary school outweigh that of in secondary one by a large margin for two major benefits. One is related to the cerebral potentials at younger age and the other is linked to psychological preparation for intake a new culture though a new language. However sight must not be lost that this essay only discusses the tip of iceberg and there is more this subject than meets the eye.