Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

SIt is true that learning a foreign language can benefit individuals in various ways since world turns into a small village that communications and mutual languages can be useful in different occupations. While a group of people argue that secondary school is the best age for learning a foreign language for pupils, I believe that there are more advantages for learning a language at early age.

There are some reasons why I would argue that learning a foreign language at secondary school would be futile. Firstly, the secondary schools' curriculum is already full with academic subjects that are difficult and overwhelming for students, so by transmitting the language lessons to the primary school we can enhance the time managing at high schools and it will lead to some improvements in other lessons. Secondly, if the elementary school pupils can learn a foreign language at early age, they can access the world class libraries and sources as they get older. A salient example of this is Germany, that provide English as a compulsory lesson for elementary students and as a result the pupils could be more successful at higher education levels.

On the other hand there are some persuasive arguments in favor of the advantages of learning a language at primary school. Children have the innate talent and instinct to pick up a language easily at early ages as well as their mother tongue, consequently it would be much easier for them to learn the new vocabulary and grammar by heart. To prove my claim, I can refer to an article having been published by Times magazine, indicates that more than 70% of primary students show interest in learning a new language at school and they could pass the exams with great scores. Furthermore, a majority of language learners who learned a foreign language at early age were more confident in communicating with others who spoke the language.

In conclusion, although the secondary school students are more mature, it would be easier for elementary students to learn a foreign language. The government authorities should investigate the schools' time table and make the necessary changes in it.