Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

It is true that employees are sometimes asked to fill in forms that enquiry some questions such as their recreational activities and their marital status. While a group of people assert that these are confidential information and collecting them is futile for the employers, others find this information useful. I consider this personal information as valuable ones.

There are a variety of reasons why a group of people are against this scheme. Firstly, they claim that employees should choose their candidates based on their talents, qualifications and experiences not their interests and hobbies. Secondly, some of these questions are confidential and people may take it as an intrusion into their privacy. Finally, the marital status should not be a deterrent factor for the employers to opt their subordinates. To support my claim, I can refer to an article having been published in Times magazine, indicates that the most important indexes in job prosperity among the people who were aged between 25 to 40, were punctuality, perseverance and ambition and their family background has the lowest impact in their success.

On the other hand, I believe that this information can help employers to provide better working environment for their work force. Moreover, it helps them to offer appropriate recreational facilities for their subordinates. Take the Google Company for example, the managers of this prominent company could provide gym facilities at their work environment which help their employees to do some exercise which enhance their efficiency dramatically. They add this equipment according the employees’ interest. Moreover, this information helps the managers to find better job position for the job candidates.

In conclusion, although some of the information seems to be confidential, accessing them would help the job owners and managers to provide better job conditions for their employees.