Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

it is very common practice that candidates while applying for jobs are asked to submit personal details such as hobbies or marital status. there have been divided opinions on the relevance of such information for the employers.

On one hand, Most of the employers follow prescribed performa for inviting applications from job seekers. During the screening process, candidates are filtered according to their qualifications and requisite experience or skills required for the post. they do not focus on or consider personal information in the initial process. employers claim that information such as hobbies and interests can give the insights of a candidate's personality including his strengths and weakness. For example, sports activities like swimming may resemble competitiveness or team spirit. A person with his interest in Blogging may be considered as an expressive or good writer. employers can use these traits in briefly analyzing applicants psychologically. The same information might act as an ice breaker at an interview session where the candidate can feel comfortable while discussing his interests.

On the other hand, some people feel that personal data are completely irrelevant and only profession details should be submitted. applicants' interest in other activities is their choice and is subjected to privacy. it does not reflect their technical skills or affect the desired education. Moreover, if the recruiter fails to keep the records discreet, they can be misused and can have an impact on the personal life of the candidate. For example, applicants are asked to reveal their religion or cast in their bio-data and it may have an impact on recruitment due to employer's religious preferences. In India, there have been unfair appointments based on cast data.

In conclusion, though the interests of applicants may show the personality traits, I believe that it should not be mandatory for them to provide the same while applying for job unless it affects the job responsibilities.