Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful .Other disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is evident that while applying for a job recruiters always seek for personal information. Few people consider that the data they ask for is quite instrumental as it helps them to gauge the employees interests for choosing an applicant. However, others opine that, there is a risk that the employer might become prejudiced on some features. In my opinion, the information they collect is crucial and helps them while choosing an applicant.

To begin with, the information shared by the candidates helps hiring managers to deploy the right applicant on the right position. In other words, the personal traits mentioned in the job application form provide a clear picture of how the candidate will perform in actual if hired. For example, if an organization has a vacant position of a physical trainer then the recruiter would be searching for the candidate who regularly visits gym and has also mentioned this hobby in his job application form. Thus, by providing the personal information the job seeker helps recruiter to choose a potential candidate.

On the other hand, there is a chance that the employer might become partial while reviewing the resume of an applicant. They sometime may focus for a special trait and might be overlooking the special expertise that is required to perform for a particular position. For instance, if an employer is fond of playing cricket then there is a chance that the recruiter would be looking for a candidate who plays cricket and may accompanied him on few cricket events. Thus, the additional information may sometimes make the employer biased towards few special hobbies.

To sum up, the personal bio data of an applicant provides a clear path to the recruiters to whom they should hire but sometimes it becomes redundant and may become the reason of some partiality. So, in my opinion, the employees should only provide that data which are relevant to the position.