University students are increasingly studying abroad as part of their studies. Do the advantages of studying abroad outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

A Growing number of students are opting foreign countries for their tertiary studies. Although there are various benefits of studying abroad such as getting high pay salary when they return to their home country and getting a chance of settle down in abroad, there are few drawbacks that is expensive education along with difficult living conditions. In my opinion studying abroad opens new avenue and certainly outweigh the disadvantage.

First advantage of studying abroad is that the local students who qualified from abroad tend to be preferred by the local employers and they often get high remuneration jobs when they return to their home country. This is because sometimes the local employers believe that quality of education is far better in abroad countries. So, to attract them they offer higher pay. For example, a recent study of global consultancy E & Y suggest that in 2018 the average annual salary of foreign qualified graduates was 60% higher than local university graduates. Another benefit of studying abroad is that majority of countries offers permanent residency to the international students and subsequently citizenship after spending few more years. Thus making more favorable option for international student to study abroad rather than in their home country.

On the other hand, studying in foreign land would cost an individual much higher. To elaborate this , a student needs to pay full tuition fees, accommodation charges and flight cost which eventually will cost him more compare to if he study in his home country. For instance ,one recent study suggest that the average cost of two years masters program in Australia is 90,000 Australian dollars which is far expensive than if one study in his home country. In addition, living far away from home is also quite challenging as one can easily feel home-sickness and one has to do all his work like cooking, laundry and cleaning toilets which most of the individuals does not do at their home country. For this reasons, the majority of the students become reluctant to go abroad.

In conclusion, University students are increasingly studying abroad as their part of studies. While there are various problem studying in overseas universities like higher cost and hectic living conditions but the advantages like higher salary in their native country and chances of obtaining permanent residence and citizenship will motivate them to pursue their tertiary education in foreign land.