Some people think that when recruiting, companies should aim to take on people who are innovative and able to work independently, while others consider that they should recruit people who are able to work in a team and follow instructions. To what do you agree or disagree?

It is argued by few people that the companies ought to recruit those workers who can work self dependently and think creatively. Others believe that they should hire those individuals who can adopt instructions and are good team players. There are various benefits of hiring a creative and independent employee such as they lead the projects without the support of their colleagues and they provide their feedback to further improve the companies policies. Personally I support the later view.

To begin with, the workers who work in team and adapt the predetermined guideline sometimes become reluctant for taking any new assignment. As they are more dependent on others so they cannot perform any task without the help of their peers. To simplify this, the way they are being nurtured in an organisation, their mind becomes a slave and they tend not to provide their feedback with regard to any new assignment given to them. Furthermore, companies need better leaders to lead their ongoing projects and they tend to be less conducive as they follow the already set procedures . Thus, they become lesser choice for the hiring managers to hire them.

However, there are various advantages of choosing an innovative and independent employee. Firstly, they create value addition in the processes. In other words, they tend to participate in various meetings and give their input about their work and how it can be further improved. Secondly, they prove to be instrumental in developing the companies standard operating procedures and policies. As they have creative mind so they always tend to improvise the systematic procedures with their intellect and knowledge. Finally, they tend to be a good resource for the companies as they can independently lead any new initiative or project assigned to them. Hence, choosing them becomes a win-win situation for the recruiters.

In conclusion, it is evident from the above argument that those employees who can work independently besides innovators are handy for the organisations.