Some people advocate the death penalty for those who committed violent crimes. Others say that capital punishment is unacceptable in contemporary society.Describe the advantages and disadvantages of the death penalty and give your opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

it is considered by the few people that death punishment should be given to the person who commits heinous crimes. while, others believe that in modern society the death penalty is intolerable. personally, I believe the death penalty should be enforced because it will prevent the further rise in crime and save the tax amount for better spending. (57 Words)

The death penalty can be considered unsuitable for many reasons. The strongest argument is that the innocent people could be wrongly convicted and executed. In a country where the judicial procedure takes several years to conclude a case, there is a chance that an honest and decent person could be executed or put behind bars until proven as an innocent person. another reason is that death penalty cannot deter the grave crimes as the criminals before committing a crime do not think rationally or consider the consequences of committing the crime. Thus, it does not bring the desired outcomes.

however, another view is that capital punishment is vital for the society. Firstly, it is an effective way of restraining major crimes. those offenders who are kept under prison will not be able to commit further crimes. Secondly, the tax payers’ hard earned money, which is saved from the prisoners’ budget can be spent on health, education and other productive work and finally, those criminals who perform fewer crimes would be afraid because of the punishment given to their fellow criminals. As a result, the overall crime rate can be reduced.

In conclusion, while one school of thought considers this act as inhuman and does not encourages this. however, the other school of thought positively reinforces this because of the various benefits. personally, I am in favour of the later view.