Some people advocate death penalty for those who committed violent crimes. Others say that capital punishment is unacceptable in contemporary society.

Describe advantages and disadvantages of death penalty and give your opinion.

Many people argue that capital punishment should only be handed out in offences of higher severity, while others argue that it should never be utilized to punish people for crimes they have committed. Firstly, this essay agrees and will analyse the reasons in favour of capital punishment. Secondly, this essay will analyse the reasons why the death penalty is never a suitable reason for punishment for crimes.

There are many examples of why people agree that the death penalty is a suitable punishment for heinous crimes. Nevertheless, the most important one stems from the fact that it deters other criminals from committing crimes and brings down the crime rate. criminals are made aware of the consequence of their actions, and this they might hesitate to perpetrate offences. Thus, bringing down the crime rate. take, for example, the rate of crime in Sweden has plummeted by over 44% after capital punishment was introduced in the country. Therefore, the fear of death keeps outlaws from carrying out misdeeds.

On the other hand, innocent people might end being wrongly convicted. they might not be able to prove their innocence in due time. Such unfair executions will take away the faith of people in the justice system. Besides, some criminals can transform if given a chance.

In conclusion, although capital punishment has some disadvantages, in my opinion, it is one of the most effective ways to prevent people from engaging in severe misdeeds and bringing down crime rates.