In some countries it is thought advisable that children begin formal education at four years old, while in others they do not have to start school until they are seven or eight.

Educational institutes are the founding blocks of humans as they teach them various skills that a human requires in his life. Although, it is suggested in a few countries that parents should get enroll their children when they turn four years due to various benefits. However, others believe that children ought to begin school after turning seven or eight years. I wholeheartedly, agree with the later opinion.

On the one hand, it is said that children should start their formal education at four years. The primary reason for this view is that the early they will start their education, the sooner they will stand on their own feet. In other words, if they start schooling at early age, they can complete their tertiary education at early age. Consequently, they will be able to start working at younger age and can significantly contribute to their household income. Take, India as an example, where the child begins their school education at four years and by the twenty-two years of the age, the child can apply for a job and can work for almost thirty-eight years before reaching a superannuation age. Another point to consider is that it can significantly reduce the extra cost of the working parents who often send their children to day-care centers often when they are at their workplace or away from their homes. Thus, the extra amount saved from these day-care centers can be spent on their household needs.

On the other hand, they are a few advantages of enrolling a child in school at seven years. Firstly, children are often emotionally weaker in the early years of their life. So, when they get more time to spend with their family, they become emotionally and psychologically stronger. Which may prove to be instrumental in situations where they have to think logically. Furthermore, children often take some time to develop their field of interest. So, enrolling at a later age may provide them enough time to choose the area of their interest. Finally, children may get plenty of time to spend on extracurricular activities which are vital for the self-development of the individuals.

In conclusion, one school of thought believes that children should be enrolled at four years as they will be able to serve many years in their employment which will help them in bearing their household expenses but in my view, they should enroll at seven or eight years as they can utilize their initial eight years in learning extra-curricular skills which may prove instrumental in better shaping their future life.