In some countries it is thought advisable that children begin formal education at four years old, while in others they do not have to start school until they are seven or eight.

How far do you agree with either of these views?

Early education has a great impact on children’s cognitive development. Some argue “the earlier, the better”, while others state that children should not start their education until they reach the appropriate developmental age. This argument stems from the question: how old is the most appropriate age for children to begin schooling. I strongly believe that children must start school when they reach the age of seven or eight, because their brain cannot function adequately and we are most likely to fail screening out those who have a potential intellectual disability at an age of four.

First, children shouldn’t start school when they are four-years-old, because their brain functioning is still under development. It is known that our brain does not stop growing in structure and function until an age of twenty-five. 4-year-old children are still going through the development, so it will be challenging for them to properly learn in a school. Therefore, it is not optical to start an education at such an early age as their brain cannot adopt learning.

Second, we shouldn’t force children to start school at an earlier age, because schools will most likely fail to detect those who need special support due to their intellectual disability. Psychological journals show that it is hard to diagnose any intellectual disability, such as autism spectrum disorder, when children are too young. Early onset of the disability is very rare, thereby we often fail to detect children who need special support, which leads to inadequate support for those who need the most. Therefore, we should start school when children reach an age of seven, so that we are able to identify the support they need, and provide an appropriate one for them.

In conclusion, I strongly agree with the statement that children should start school at age of seven or eight, because they are at an appropriate developmental age to start learning, and they are old enough to be identified with any potential intellectual disability.