Many people nowadays work long hours and working has become more stressful.

What are the reasons for this?

What could companies do to help employees to improve their lives?

there has been concern about long working hours and stressful work environment. The majority of people associated with corporate jobs would agree with it.

one of the reasons related to extensive job timings is competition. Due to globalization and the easy availability of resources, Multinational companies have created lots of employment opportunities and thus competition, too. most of the firms follow the target-based performance index. that means the employee is evaluated as per the achievement of goals in a given duration. For example, private hospitals ask doctors to perform a certain amount of surgeries in a month and therefore, the more number of surgical procedures doctors perform, the more revenue is generated. The companies tend to initiate such competitions between employees, teams, and offices by giving them extra benefits of wages or facilities for nearing the goals. The extreme pressure of fulfilling the requisite targets makes employees only to work for long hours but also sometimes on weekends.

Another important factor that leads to work stress is a negative office environment. it is important for one to work surrounded by joyful people. however, most of the people complain about their relationship with colleagues or their superior. people working in a competitive sector tend to lack in social interaction such as helpful behaviour or positive influence. A supervisor is supposed to understand the strengths and weaknesses of his team members and supports them at the time of failure or crisis. however, unlike moral professional duties, he seems to blame and insult his team for underperforming. such instances lead to team quarrels and are responsible for mental stress.

many companies and private firms are trying to address the above-mentioned issues. They should realize that employees in stress can not perform and it will have a negative impact overall. there should be guidelines about sticking to 8 hours or 9 hours timings for everyone. extra time or overtime bonus should not be encouraged. Moreover, some companies offer their employees to work from home which is beneficial for both the parties. companies should also promote stress-free and healthy job work culture. there are some Muni National firms that have established game zones for their members. employees are sensitized about yoga and mental health for a positive work-life balance. many companies have started organizing their team meetings as a part of a picnic or outing. members can freely express their opinions about each other and can be motivated. I firmly believe that breaking sessions and team-building capacity programmes should be mandatory for reviewing stress index of company.