Many people nowadays work long hours and working has become more stressful.

What are the reasons for this?

What could companies do to help employees to improve their lives?

It has become normal for people to work for many hours daily, and at a very stressful environment. The competitiveness among young people and the need for money to cover the increasing cost of living are the main reasons for this phenomenon. To make employees’ live better, I believe that companies should stimulate their people to spend some time with friends and family.

One reason why people have been working many on a very stressful environment is because young employee are always very competitive. They are always trying to prove themselves, by working as many hours as possible to meet their goals and show to the boss that they are worth. By working that many hours they barely get some time to relax and do their own things, which make them to become stressful people. And combining all these stressful people together in the same work environment can only result on a stressful place.

One other reason that for this is that people are working more and more to make money to cover their cost of living. Life has become more expensive, especially in the big cities and that is another cause that leads people to work long hours. Because the more they work the larger is their paychecks. And this pressure for more money also results in more stressful people working under pressure.

To make employees live better, I believe that companies should stimulate them to spend some time with their friends and family, because relaxed employees are much more efficient and they are capable to achieve better results. One way to stimulate that is by requesting employees to go home earlier on Fridays, or giving away hotel and flight tickets to the best employees, so they can have some time away with their families/ friends.

To sum up, the high competitiveness among young people and crescent need for money has led employees to work more hours at a very stressful environment. Despite this, I believe that companies could help employees to improve their lives by give them some more free time, and by giving travel rewards so they can spend some quality time away with family and friends.