Some of the methods used in advertising are unethical and unacceptable in today’s society.

To what extent do you agree with this view?

In my opinion, definitely, publicity should have some important limitations. I do not think that it is negative at all, neither think that everything might be prohibited. However, I truly support some fences to them, such as an advertising for children and dangerous products. So, I totally agree with that statement.

When I say that I believe in fences, I mean that some methods to advertising can be terribly prejudicial for children’s development. This doesn’t mean that they would be completely preserved to have access to advertisements; but, certainly, they don’t have enough maturity to process everything that they are seeing on television, for example.

In Brazil, in 90’s, all kind of publicity were allowed for everyone, including children and babies. This fact was very important for infants programs industry, at that time. Despite of all channel have many cartoons available for us, suddenly, government decided to prohibit all advertising for children, without any exception. This fact wasn’t as good as they expected because every publicity was sharply banished from the channels and this make unsustainable keep showing children’s programs. This fact forced TV’s companies to change their schedule for something for adults. And, this, understandably, at that time, push us to watch videos on Internet or to pay private channels.

I would argue either that fences should be established in some kind of products. I would say that government shouldn’t allow marketing to alcoholic drinks or medicines with heavily effects. Permit this surely will incentivize people to consume this product and, in my point of view, they shouldn’t be stimulated at all. They bring many problems and struggles for who consume them and I strongly agree with the ideia to prohibit all advertisements related to these products.

Therefore, I think that government should think courageously about all aspects of publicity, even for children even for alcoholic drinks . They have to balance very carefully all the benefits and the damages caused by them. And then, decide precisely what should be limited and what deserve to still been presented.