Some people believe famous people's support towards international aid organisations draws attention to problems. Others think celebrities make the problems less important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In modern society, an increasing number of celebrities such as film stars, sportspersons, and some other billionaires tend to sponsor global philanthropic organizations. However, some people believe that the support from well-known people can draw more public attention to the problems while others argue that problems might be downplayed by their involvements. The following paragraphs are going to discuss both views.

It is undeniable that famous people can raise the awareness of social problems. First of all, most celebrities are admired and respected by the public and this contributes to increasing the profile of aid organisations; therefore, a growing number of people will donate money or volunteer to assist charities to solve those problems. In addition, celebrities can also reflect social and environmental problems by creating songs or making films; for instance, We Are the World, a song created by Michael Jackson in 1991, successfully heightened concerns about the plight of children in impoverished countries.

On the other hand, celebrities could also lessen the importance of problems. One reason is because most people are likely to associate the purpose of celebrities’ support with either enhancing reputation or gaining public attention and consequently neglect them, thereby ignoring those pressing problems. Furthermore, some celebrities, especially those who are notorious for doping or sexual scandals, are denounced by the public, so their sponsorship could even jeopardise the reputation of aid organisations and people will therefore be discouraged from lending a hand to those charities.

In my opinion, it is reasonable to think that most celebrities’ assistance towards charities contributes to raising the awareness of problems due to their reputation and this could encourage citizens to make joint efforts to combat social problems. However, some entertainers with notoriety could also downplay the problems.