Some people believe that the government should pay for and offer housing to people who lost their homes or cannot afford them. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give your own opinion. Use specific reasons and examples to support it.

The role of the government is to provide different facilities to citizen and help them when required. Accommodation is needed by everyone and it is seen that some people are not able to afford the house or lost the residential owing to natural calamities. Some people believe that it is the responsibility of the government to provide shelter to homeless people. I also support that homeless should be taken care by the administration.

People who hold the view that individuals should be held responsible for their houses have some valid points. Firstly, building house require lots of money and if number of people are higher for availing such kind of service then there will be lot of financial burden on government and other welfare schemes may get hampered. For instance, in African countries, government provides the shelter to poor people but can’t provide the health services because of lack of funds. Secondly, knowing that government will take care of the residence, it will make the people lazy and people may not prefer to work hard as their basic needs are being fulfilled by government.

However, people believe that house is one of the basic necessities for human and person do not have, citing any reasons must be helped by the administration in form of building the house or make appropriate payment. There are so many nations where people live under poverty lines and hardly get food for family. In such scenario, thinking about house is a far distant dream and they spend most of their life in temporary accommodation or living on street in dilapidated conditions. It becomes mandatory for government to provide suitable house for weaker section of society. Furthermore, a natural disaster sometimes devastates cities or community and leaves nothing. As a result, lots of people become deserted and require enormous help to rehabilitate. For example, recent hurricane swept the whole Caribbean island and destroyed properties. Only way to reconstruct their house is to provide help by local government and international aid.

To sum-up, though individuals may be asked to take care of their residential requirement, poor and homeless people must be facilitated a place to live in order to live the life with dignity.