Some people believe the government should spend money on building train and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion. Others think that building more and wider roads is the better way to reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different views about the budget of country’s infrastructure developments to solve traffic congestion. Though it is argued that expending on the roads construction can reduce traffic jam, I believe that governments should use money on advancing railway service to tackle this issue.

On the one hand, the expanded and extensive number of roads can allow passing through many vehicles at a time, and offering an enjoyable trip for commuters. This could encourage people to use public bus services rather than travel with own car. Hence, the vehicles redundancy will decline on the roads which ensure less jamming at rush hours. A recent survey shows that in Singapore has the best road system in the world, whereas 40% of people use public bus to travel their working place because it’s cheaper and reach on time. In addition, ample space and variety of access on the roads can prevent the road clogging associate with vehicle-collision.

However, I would argue that dealing with traffic congestion problem is best solved by spending governments’ funds for railways development. The metro train and the subway services are useful because they can cover long-distance trip and carry immense amount of passengers at a time. The development of those services could prevent the migration of people to a city, and enjoy professional life from their home. This could reduce the city population as well as road users. Another plus point is that these services have fewer rates of congestion and collision issues. A recent survey shows that in Bangladesh the rates of train collision are only 5% in last 2 years.

In conclusion, although it might seem sensible for the government to focus on building roads to decrease traffic obstruction, I personally prefer the advancement of railways is the most effective solution to get rid of it.