Some people believe the government should spend money on building train and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion. Others think that building more and wider roads is the better way to reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both views and give your opinion

In this modern era, many cities in the world are suffering from traffic jams. A section of society believes that to reduce the traffic-related problems government should spend money on the construction of train and subway lines. Although some support this view, others have strong counter-argument that constructing more and broad roads is the effective measure to minimize the traffic overcrowding. In my perspective, building train and subway lines is the ideal way to curb traffic problems. This essay will delve into both aspects with relevant examples in support of my view.

To begin with, enhancing public transportation like metro and local train system can provide a viable solution to traffic congestion. As more people will prefer them as they are an economical and faster way of daily commutation rather than driving their car. This step can potentially decrease the number of vehicles on the road which will help to solve the traffic problems. For instance, a study carried out by the Indian Government reveals that instances of traffic jam have registered a sharp decline since the inception of the metro and local railway in India. Hence, this is an efficient way to control the traffic choking.

On the other hand, others advocate that more and widened roads can resolve these problems and has a strong reason to support. First and foremost, constructing the new and broaden roads will help manage the traffic because it will accommodate a higher number of vehicles and also provide alternative routes to reach a destination. However, this approach has failed in many metro cities in India due to the exponential rise of the population. For example, research has shown that despite constructing the new and broad roads by Delhi Government, the traffic-related issues remained unsolved until the metro come into existence. Therefore, the subway network is a better approach than constructing the new roads.

In conclusion, constructing more roads might not be as practical as estimated. So, I strongly opine that constructing the underground railway system is an acceptable solution to traffic problems.