Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely.

With the invention of the internet, securing data and information from unauthorized access has become significantly important. While it is advised by some people that making more and more information, related to research; the corporate world; or education, publicly available is in the best interest of society; however, others argue that certain information should be kept confidential either because of its sensitive nature or economical purpose. I consider that making certain information accessible to limited stakeholders or the general public entirely depends on its nature.

In several scenarios, sharing a particular set of information has tremendous advantages. Firstly, scientific breakthroughs particularly in the field of medicines ought to be disseminated globally, so that a large number of patients suffering from incurable diseases reap the benefits. In addition, conglomerates who disclose the detail of their corporate social responsibility initiatives on the website enjoy a positive reputation by its customers and this is reflected in their business performance. Finally, it is imperative to distribute knowledge of educational significance because this is the only way further enhancement can be made to it.

However, the distribution of highly sensitive data might have negative implications. Firstly, it makes no sense to spread information about the national security of any country because it is highly likely that terrorists or enemies would use this to carry out terrorism in order to invade the countries. Similarly, manufacturing companies disclosing data related to the recipe of its products is useless and will be misused by its competitors, resulting in the loss of market share and business. Clearly, there are reasons behind not sharing information with everyone.

Having considered the matter in-depth, I can conclude that restricting access to information is dependent on the purpose and it cannot be simply generalized.