Some people believe that main purpose of schools is to turn children into good citizens and workers instead of to benefit them individually.

Schools and other educational institutes are considered to be the lighthouses of a nation as they perform a great job by educating students and help build an ideal nation. If education is the backbone of a nation, schools are the places where this is shaped and polished. However, it is a never-ending debate about the main purpose of schools. I agree that a school's main purpose should be to turn students into honest and good citizens instead of turning them into selfish money making machines.

First, the main purpose of education is to build up an enlightened nation where morality, honesty and integrity would be the key characteristics of the citizens. They would keep aside their personal ambition and work together for the betterment of the country. Since a school is a place where education is planted and taken care of, its main objective should be to focus on nurturing morality and good human characteristics among the students. What good will it bring to the society if a talented and experienced doctor treats patients only for the money he earns? Should not we have more professionals whose main purpose is to help others? If we want to have more people who would actually help others instead of turning into money-making machines, we should focus on our education system, especially what we teach our children.

Second, states spend a lot of money to keep the schools and its education system running. A major portion of this spending comes from the tax ordinary citizens pay. From this regards, if schools plan to adopt an education system where teachers’ sole purpose would be to teach children how to be personally benefitted, the whole education system would lose its main purpose. We have to be very careful while educating children. What we teach them in their early stage would become their permanent characteristics and if the schools fail to teach them to become ideal citizens, it would be a great concern in the future.

Finally, personal benefits, memorising some lessons and getting good grades should not be the main reasons children attend schools and the true personal benefits do not lie on the amount of money someone earns, rather it is defined by the happiness and morality we gain in our life.

In conclusion, making ideal citizens and dedicated workers should be the true objective of our schools. The greater good of the society, bright and prosperous future of a nation and personal achievements of individuals are connected with the way we teach our children in schools and that is why our education should be focused on morality and quality.