Some people believe that nowadays we have too many choices.To what extent do you agree or disagree to this statement?

It is said that people in today’s world are often overwhelmed with options. Although I agree that being surrounded by information sometimes can lead to wrong decisions, I do not believe that the issue is alarming.

On the one hand, there is no disputing the fact that more businesses, schools, facilities, etc. are rising than ever before due to the innovation of information and technology, which can result in people being bombarded with information and options. Making a decision now is time-consuming and frustrating because of the availabilities of products and services in the market. For example, while in the past the milkman delivered your milk in the morning and that is the only source of milk, dozens of new types of milk from hundreds of brands have been introduced in recent years making the market more competitive than ever.

On the other hand, there is a host of advantages to having many options. Firstly, the more choices we have the more competitive the market is. Consequently, consumers benefit from better products as well as services, which in turn, contribute to the growth of the economy. Secondly, the range of products varies widely will create accessibility for all types of consumers in different income brackets. For instance, the poor in Vietnam has now been able to fly with the newly established airline providing cheap tickets and short distances flights. Therefore, the competition between companies and convenience makes it beneficial to have many choices.

In conclusion, while I agree that too many preferences might lead to waste of time and effort, I would argue that the merits of it are significant.