Some people believe the purpose of prison is to punish, while others would argue that rehabilitation is its primary role.Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Certain individuals have this notion that the sole purpose of jail is to punish criminals, whereas, others believe that they are use as a rehab. This essay agrees that the main purpose of putting criminals behind bars is to make them guilty conscious, so that they realise their mistakes and take steps to correct them in future. This essay will discuss both point of views.

Several people have this opinion that criminals convicting henious crime such as murder, rape and kidnapping should be put in jail in order to punsh them so that they do not repeat it again. Dangerous criminals should be given harsh punshments by the prison authorities as they are so thick skinned and lack any emotions and feelings that by making them do social activities will not change their mind set moreover, punishment is important so that when they are released in the society they do not provide any harm to people.

However, many disagree and feel that criminals should be motivated to do social activities such as planting trees, helping the elderly people, making toys for orphans as this will aids in developing a feeling of love and harmony among them. Individuals believe that people who are deprives of love and respect are more prone to follow the path of crime. Once they will get back love and appreciation, furthermore will be accepted by the society, they will become a good and responsible citizens.

To conclude, Although criminals should be punished for their monstrous criminal activities, some still feel that the best way to make them realise their mistake and to convert them to a good citizens in to rehabilitate them. Nevertheless, in my opinion, i vehmently agree that prisons should be used for rehabilitaion purpose in order to change the mind set of criminals and to motivate them to not to do any criminal activitiy in future.