Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

Self-studying is a crucial part of education. Some people believe that studying at home play a significant role where as other favor the idea that there should be no homework for the children after school. In my opinion homework helps in development of the child and induces discipline in them. This essay will discuss both the views and indicate why home-works in fact is an effective idea.

Certain people are not in the favor that teachers should give home work to the children. They believe that kids should spend a quality time playing and involving in activities other than studies which help in the overall development of the child. However, this might not be true because if the students spend their time in other curricular activities, they might not remember what they have been taught in the school which in return may impact their performance in the exams. A survey conducted in England involved 2 groups of children where one group were given homework whereas the other group did not study after school, The results of their exam stated clearly how everyday studying helped group one. All students passed the exams unlike group 2 where 3 children failed and their average score was low.

On the other hand, a significant number of parents believe that homework plays a vital role supporting the children in their education. Apparently, it is suggested that we spent an hour or two revising and understanding the lessons learned in the school, this helps us to remember the topic and lays a foundation on which we can grow. Practice will make us perfect and it has never hindered the personality of any student, I strongly support this idea that self-study definitely builds a strong base. This was proved recently by a survey at Oxford University where they asked questions to the pupil from previous day’s lesson and it was derived that students who refreshed the lessons at home were able to answer most of the questions.

In conclusion, Even though, some people think homework should not be given to the children, which is opposite to what others believe that it plays an important role in education of the child. I think homework contributes towards the development of the children and disciplining them.