Some people believe that teaching children at home is best for a child’s development while others think that it is important for children to go to school. Discuss the advantages of both methods and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words

Homeschooling is now gaining popularity among certain categories of parents. While some people approve of homeschooling children, there are others who are against this kind of education. Such people are of the opinion that school education is the best for a child’s development. In this essay, I will discuss the advantages of both types of schooling and put forward my opinion.

Homeschooling provides undivided attention towards one child. This helps the child to bloom as he / she is not timid of others watching. This child has the opportunity to discuss and clear all the doubts that arise. The pace of study is also designed taking into consideration his / her grasping capacity and capabilities. Secondly, homeschooling helps to strengthen the bond between parents and children. When parents are closely involved in the learning and education of a child, they are able to have a clear picture of the IQ level of their child. This will help them in avoiding pressure to overachieve. Thirdly, when a child is home-schooled, he would be able to prevent being bullied by others, peer pressure, extreme competitiveness, which is the cause for concern among parents these days.

While homeschooling has its charm, we cannot neglect the advantages that school education has. When a child is in school, he gets to meet children from a wide variety of backgrounds, culture, race, religion, etc. Children learn to mingle and cope with other kids. This is a great learning experience to move in the adult world at work places or family life etc. Furthermore, Schools provide more facilities to enhance one’s knowledge, such as libraries, computer facility, sports equipment, which will help in the overall growth of the child. Lastly, Teachers have a lot of experience and are able to provide knowledge accurately based on their years of teaching and the education they possess to be able to ace in the teaching field.

In my opinion, the advantages of school education supersede homeschooling for a number of reasons. Schools are not only a place to study, but it is a place where we have our best memories. We make lifetime friends and some great mentors who always guide us even after school years. I met my best friend in school and we have always had each other’s back since then. I would also never forget my Social Studies teacher who was always willing to give great advice and I have always paid heed to her advice when in difficult situations.