Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programs (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children).

In recent years, there has been a growing concern about how to increase high school students’ social engagement. This has led to a suggestion that community volunteering should be integrated into part of the school curriculum. In my opinion, I strongly subscribe to this idea to a large extent for two reasons.

To begin with, a synthesis of student volunteering and the school curriculum is one of the most effective pathways to inculcating in high school students a sense of empathy. Empathy is an important skill they will use for the rest of their lives as they are growing into compassionate adults. Whether through one-time projects or ongoing programs, high school adolescents are given plenty of opportunities to enhance their ability to understand other people’s feelings. Not only could they come to realize how lucky they are but they could also start putting themselves in another person’s shoes. Through their commitment to unpaid community service, they are more likely to identify with people’s misfortune.

In addition, community volunteering plays a critical role in developing students’ new skills and gaining work experience. The hands-on experience might provide building blocks for future success. For instance, if a high school volunteer is assigned a task of reimbursement at a local charity, he or she needs to plan and prioritize work lest this extra work affect his or her schoolwork. Then, after managing and sorting the receipts of donors, this student has to learn how to use Google spreadsheets to keep track of inventory and donations. These work-related skills that cannot be acquired from school books are, in fact, the very foundation for a job in management, accounting, or running a small business. Since gratuitous community service offers a space where students can gain new skills, open their eyes to something different, and give back to their community, I consider it feasible to fuse volunteering into high school programs.

In conclusion, the idea of incorporating voluntary service into part of schooling is completely viable. Not merely does compulsory community service cultivate students’ empathy but it also helps them procure occupation-related skills and increase competitiveness. Owing to the aforementioned three benefits, it is worth motivating students to engage in unpaid community service at school.