Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Household waste has become a global issue in the recent times. Some people are of the opinion that the best way to increase recycling is by authorities to come up with certain decrees. This essay strongly supports this view and it will explain with valid examples in the subsequent paragraphs.

Most of the People do not come with a sense of responsibility towards garbage collection and even prompt disposal. This is because there is no strict punishment against garbage which is recklessly thrown around or causing stench in the society due to not separating wet waste and dry waste. Therefore, the government must make strict laws for recycling household waste and if any individual does not follow the rules then the government should take legal action against them. This would certainly help in facilitating waste recycling. For instance, in line with the current new policy introduced by the government of India, there is a monthly fee of one thousand Indian rupees for collecting the waste from outside of individual’s home and if the waste is not properly disposed of in dustbin then there is a penalty of an extra five thousand Indian rupees. These kind of strict laws would certainly make recycling household waste far speedier.

Furthermore, how can people hold the government accountable? When they themselves are at fault largely. The governments main contribution could come in the form of educating, by holding large campaigns, free lectures etc., for its citizen to draw their attention towards the drawback of not introducing proper measures like for instance Kitchen garbage (biodegradable) could be separated from non-biodegradable waste. This way one could even start a vermiculture bin of his own to produce manure and compost waste. These kinds of large scale crusades can only be taken to a successful level only with the governments intervention.

To conclude, recycling household waste is solely the responsibility of the government which seems to influence the people largely. The stringent measures adopted by the government would certainly make the world a cleaner and greener place.