Some people get into debt by buying things they don’t need and can’t afford. What are the reasons for this behaviour? What action can be taken to prevent people from having this problem?”

A segment of society prefers to purchase costly products on loans and instalments, irrespective of fact that they cannot afford that and there is not any requirement to buy the same. This is due to the reason that they get attracted by others, and they want similar recognition in society, and it can be prevented by the strict laws by the government, and launching an awareness campaign.

People get fascinated when they see expensive items in the possession of anyone. Due to this, a desire is generated among them to imitate others and possess these products. Most of the time, they do not have enough money to own it and consequently, they borrow money from friends and banks. Moreover, many people do this to get better recognition among society. They think they will have a higher status by owning these luxuries. My friend, for instance, bought an Iphone 11 on installments despite already having one Iphone 10 just to show off people that he has the latest technology smartphone. This problem is resulting in a huge burden among people and the proliferation of cases of debt insolvency.

To tackle the situation, the government needs to implement stringent legislation to monitor and control the easy debts, which companies are giving to the people. There should be a background and income adequacy check of the loan takers before giving them any loan. Furthermore, authorities should initiate public awareness through the media about the devastating impacts of over buying through credit facilities. This will shed some light on the issue and allow people to be more attentive about this. As a result, they will think twice before possessing any unnecessary things on credit.

In conclusion, an act of imitation and want to show our superiority are the two most evident causes of irresponsible buying, and it can be mitigated by strong government regulations and their efforts to aware public on the issue.