Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful education tool. Others, however, believe that video games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them. In your opinion, do drawbacks of video games are outweigh the benefits?

It is believed that playing video games is an innocent entertainment, still a helpful education implement, while an abundance of people think that such activities are vastly damaging to players. From my perspective, I would argue that the advantages of these pastimes are outweighed by the drawbacks. In the following essay, I will present reasons to illustrate my opinions.

On the one hand, it is unable to deny that living in a technology-driven world would bring about more convenience to people, the youngster in particular, and one of them is video games that become an indispensable part of recreational activities. Firstly, joining in pastimes helps players not only unwind after the tired time of studying and working but also wide a circle of friends because it is not difficult to establish a relationship with others who have the same hobby. Secondly, people might learn practical skills through applications which simulate real-life conditions, a motor racing game, for example, may foster and enhance participants’ ability such as concentration, problem-solving and logical analyzing. Therefore, relying on these skills, people might pass challenges when they step into the world.

On the other hand, despite vivid perks of video games, there are devastating demerits that should not be bypassed. To start with, playing video games too much is the key contributing factor behind a rise in physical and mental issues, in particularly short-sighted, obesity since they usually consume processed foods and exercise less when they are addicted to these kinds of activities. In addition, a large variety of people stick their eyes on gadgets’ screen to pursue goals of games instead of reuniting with their family and mates will lead to the fact that they might feel vulnerable and alienate from other social members, thus weakening sense of community and widening distance between them and their relation. Besides, spending excessively amount of time on these games causes neglect assignments, hence they would be failed to exam.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the drawbacks of video games are more significant than the benefits.