Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives.

Which viewpoint do you agree with?

It is believed by few people that advertisements influence people to buy unnecessary goods or items while others think that advertisements are the good source for providing information about new things that can have positive impact in people's lives. In my opinion, commercials can lead to purchase of products that people do not require, however, it can also be informative source for knowing about latest important products available in the market.

To begin with, there are number of negative effects of advertisements. TV commercials that feature celebrities for the promotion of various items have had people buying those products which later they find that they should not have bought. Cosmetics, junk foods are two of many such things that people buy just because their favourite TV personals are the part of those product's advertisements, without even considering the real necessity of that product. Likewise, ads that contain false claims and promises also play a vital role in encouraging people to try out unwanted things. To exemplify, many people have bought items which claim to have surprise scratch cards included inside but most of the time fool them with ''Try Again" coupons.

Nevertheless, advertisements do provide with valuable information about new products that can be helpful. Firstly, ads help us to know about multipurpose items that have been manufactured to aid the daily works. For instance, kitchen items such as peelers, squeezers and latest grinders serve to do those works easily when used in place of traditional methodologies. In addition, genuine advertisements that ensure their product tag line and guarantees the outcome aid people to buy useful materials. For example, bluetooth headsets can be helpful for many while doing various activities. So advertisements that enable people to get information about it and hence buy it will definitely have positive influence.

In conclusion, while many advertisements today have led into people in buying unnecessary stuffs, ads do play an important role in providing information about the latest vital products.