Some people say that international sporting events contribute greatly to peace and stability in the world.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

In today’s world of crime and terrorism, events like international sports will help to bring harmony in the country and spread the message of peace and love among the citizens. There is an ideological verbalization that ‘sports not only build better athletes but also builds better people’, it generates a feeling of nationalism among the people without the feeling of hatred for other countries. There are many individuals who have a view that playing internationally will nurture friendship among the people worldwide. To what extent the countries will benefit from participation in worldwide competitions will be discussed further in this essay.

To embark on, sports played at an intercontinental level among the countries will help in building a healthy competition spirit, enthusiasm and a feeling of brotherhood among the people of different countries. Denizens of various nations come close to each other, have a friendly discussion and sharing of jokes among themselves. For example, India and Pakistan though have a lot of tension at their borders, but the friendly cricket match between them helps a lot as the players play in peace and harmony as well as it serves as a binding factor within them.

Moreover, multinational sporting events like commonwealth games and Olympic help to bring all the provinces together playing for their fame and popularity, moreover, feeling of patriotism arises among them when they win a gold medal for their country and the even plays their national anthem and hoist their flag. For example, people from places like west indies which are hardly known, when representing their birthplace on national events helps in the global recognition of their country. Furthermore, the internationally recognized sportsperson has a lot of fan following, who see them as their idols and follow their career paths thus helping the country to be globally acknowledged by having successful players participating in sport events. For example, Virat Kohli is the biggest fan of Sachin Tendulkar known as God of Cricket, is following his career path to be a world-renowned cricketer and brings popularity for his country.

To conclude, I am completely agreeing with the opinion that when Sports played at the International level it helps in easing tensions between countries and helps to outspread the message of tolerance, peace, and companionship.