Some people say it is more important to plant trees in towns and cities than to build housing. Do you agree or disagree?

The issue is arising due to the increasing concerns on the urban environment. Someone suggests it necessary to plant more trees than to construct new buildings in order to improve the quality of the environment. I partly agree with this point.

To Begin with. Planting trees could be essential to the well-being of the city and residents who live there. The urban ecological system may benefit a lot from increasing green scape. It could provide the different types of animals with shelters and habitats. The clusters of trees could also contribute to reducing the hot island effect and improve the micro-climate in the dense area of the city. Moreover, human-being could have many health benefits from plant trees by getting access to more green space such as parks, gardens, and playgrounds. The study shows, people who live near the green resources in the city, may have a longer life expectancy than those not liver near the green. All these benefits can't be achieved through the buildings.

On the other hand, news buildings are also necessary to a normal development of the city. Although it undeniable that it could casue some air and water pollution to the urban environment when constructing the new buildings, a city can not operate properly without sufficient density of buildings. In the new district of my hometown, where the building density is rather low but the density of the trees is higher, people don't like to live and work there. The main reasons include that there are not enough commercial and service building, which make it very inconvenient to live there. Besides, too many trees without a responding amount of buildings could cause some safety concerns to residents.People, especially women and children do not dare to go the large parks just because of their fear of crime, resulting in a waste of land and investment.

In all, planting trees is important to the well-being of the city and people who's living there. However, sufficient density of buildings also plays an important role in keeping the city operating as it could bring the city with safety and convenience. It's really hard to which side overweigh the other.