Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organized group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own. Discuss both view and give your own op

It is advocated by many to let children take part in group-based activities in their free time, while, on the other hand, there are those who would rather advise children to pre-occupy themselves without needing anybody else. This essay will discuss both viewpoints and finally conclude in favour of the latter approach.

Group activities are necessary for children to seamlessly inculcate the virtues that make our modern society great. It can be argued that children learn invaluable social skills and ettiquette as well as highly desirable soft skills such as leadership, team-spirit, and responsibility while participating in group activities. For instance, we can look at the football academies everywhere who train children in playing football from as early as the age of eight years. These children are all well-mannered and sober because they are accustomed to play and live as a group.

On the other hand, many people are of the opinion that children, if let to spend time by themselves, will hone their critical thinking skills. Children, by nature, are adventurous and like to experiment with whatever is present at their disposal and, thus, must be allowed to have free time by themselves which would lead to the unlocking of their mental processes and unleash their creativity. Eric Clapton, the world-famous guitar maestro, is a living example of letting a child have his own free space. He has been experimenting with his guitar skills since the age of six and has released marvellous melodies throughout his lifetime for the whole world to admire in awe.

Finally, this essay is of the notion that children will do better if they are allowed to have their free time and space. We have seen such individuals become great scientists and artists throughout history. It is these few people who were left on their own during their childhood who have gifted incredible inventions and discoveries, and art and creation to the whole mankind to reap the benefits of.