Some people say supermarkets should have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packages for products they sell. Others say it is the responsibility of consumers by avoiding such products. Discuss both views and provide examples.

Many hypermarkets use plastic in packaging their products as it can store the product for a long time. Many people say that they need to reduce the quantity of packaging and others cite that it is the responsibility of customers to shun such products. This essay will discuss both the views and justify with some illustrations.

It is an irrefutable fact that plastic is the prime causative factor for pollution, and use of plastic in packing will increase it the amount of this un-degradable substance globally. Many companies use polythene to store the product for a long time which directly proportional to the escalation of the use of plastic in daily life. It is said that more than 95% of products which are sold in marts are wrapped in plastic. So supermarts should be responsible to reduce this non-eco-friendly substance.

On the other hand, consumers should be also liable to eradicate these products as they are not only increasing the pollution but also hazardous to health. Plastic contains some chemical variables like carbon and hydrogen which can react with any organic or inorganic substance and results in some detrimental effects. It is exemplified in Thailand that 1562 people were hospitalized and 160 died when they consumed a newly introduced chocolate which is wrapped in plastic. So people should be more accountable for avoiding the products packaged in plastic.

In conclusion, it is evident that plastic is ubiquitous in everyone's sphere. Increase in use of plastic will not only results in increased pollution but also have some deleterious effects on humans. So, both markets and consumers are responsible for use of plastic.