Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some would argue that every college student should learn the subjects they love. Others say that they should only be permitted to take courses that are helpful for their future. While students have more motivation when studying their preferred subjects, this essay argues that making students focus on science and technology will help them secure a job.

University students will be motivated to improve when they study what they like. This is to say that students will enjoy learning if they find a course interested. As a result, they will achieve a drastic improvement in their study. For example, Vietnam national university has the policy to let students enroll in whatever courses they prefer and this school is reported to have the best average academic performance compared to its competitors. However, this essay believes that those who study unsystematically tend to not spend enough time training essential skills for future jobs.

On the contrary, giving tertiary education students a fixed set of subjects related to science and technology will secure them a better future career. This is because most companies today only look for candidates who have practical research and computer-literate skills, not those who can draw and sing. Therefore, subjects such as math, physics, and computer science will equip students with skills that exactly meet jobs requirement. For instance, a study indicates that 40 percent of workers in Vietnam graduated from Bach Khoa university where all art subjects are excluded leaving only science and computer classes provided. This essay believes that this approach will ensure that students will not fall into a state of unemployment in the future.

In conclusion, although allowing students to learn whatever they like brings a huge boost to their motivation to study, classes that provide skills required by companies should be made the top priority because they ensure students’ a stable career in the future.